Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I am and have been an ardent fan of Julia Child. I say who is not? The funny part being (which I suppose I should not be confessing in public) that I had never heard of her until I saw Julie & Julia and I fell head over heels in love with the character of Meryl Streep and I have till date already watched that movie easily 10 times.

I remember the day I watched that movie, I was at my aunt’s place and once the movie finished I dragged her to the public library in our arduous search for “Mastering the art of french cuisine”.That was the day I wanted to cook and I fell in love with cooking.

Today I realised I have all the ingredients for making her famous Puree de Pommes de Terra a L’Ail or Garlic mashed potatoes.They were to say the least scrum-diddly-umptious .That’s Julia’s magic.She can make even the person who has never cooked before seem like a master chef.

As Julia used to say in her signature tone,

Bon Appetit!

Image

This doodle created by Willie Real on her 100th birthday.
See more http://www.google.com/doodles/julia-childs-100th-birthday

Garlic Mashed potatoes ( Adapted from Julia Child’s Puree de Pommes)

Roasted Garlic cloves – 1/4 cup
Milk – 1/2 cup (Reduced fat will work too)
Heavy cream – 1/2 cup
Unsalted butter – 4 tbsps
Salt as per taste
Potatoes – 2 pounds

1.Peel the potatoes and cut them in half.It just fastens the boiling process.Put them in boiling water for around 30-35 minutes.
To test If they are done or not, put a fork and if they break in half means they are soft and boiled thoroughly.

2.Roast the garlic in oven at around 375F for 30-45 minutes.
Sprinkle some olive oil and salt and black pepper on the garlic before putting in the oven.

Image

3.Puree the garlic, milk and cream in a blender until smooth.Then transfer it to a pot and boil it.Remove from heat and put the butter and mix it and try to keep it warm by covering it.

4.When the potatoes are boiled, pass them through a potato ricer ( You can even use a grater) and store them in a non stick pot. Once its all mashed, them turn on the gas at low and mash the potatoes more using a potato masher or a steel spoon till you feel all the water from potatoes has evaporated.

5.Mix in the milk mixture and mix it evenly.

6.Add salt according to taste.

7.Serve it warm .

Image