Tags

, , ,

I know my dear readers if you exist, you guys must be waiting to hear my meltdown over indian food which I promised earlier this weekend.Well to start with I had been wanting to eat spinach but you know my husband is not a green veggie lover or I must say he tries to find every excuse in the world to avoid eating greens.So in my wild goose chase of trying to feed him greens, I decided to make Spinach gravy with potatoes.

I was doing all right till the end , reading and following the recipe step by step when he called me saying he is on his way home, and I being a chatty person which I am, started telling him about my day and I didn’t realise that the curry demanded me to add fenugreek but I added bitter neem which my mom had given me to keep it as a cure for insect bites (more on neem later though).So you can imagine to my surprise and shock it was bitter as poison (I can’t think of a good synonym!)

So well my efforts were gone in vain and I had mood swings of a pregnant lady! I did. Trust me or ask my poor husband.

On the bright side last night I made Shahi panner (Paneer butter masala) and we ended up licking our plates and fingers.The rest we had for lunch today. I didn’t take pictures intentionally because after that big spinach gravy mess up,I was not at all sure how this will turn up.Well to my surprise, it came out amazing. I am so so so so sorry for the picures though.

So to make up for it, I had to share this recipe with you friends and trust me you will love it.

Shahi paneer (Paneer butter masala)

Given to me by my mom.

Yellow onion – 1 (2 if small in size) fine minced paste

Tomato – 1 (medium sized) fine paste

Green chilli paste – according to taste (If you are not a spicy food eater then you can omit them also.I love spicy food so I used around 2 tsps)

Ginger paste – 1/2 tbsp

Garlic paste – 1/2 tbsp

Paneer – 1/2 gal of whole milk used to make paneer ( I usually make fresh paneer at home but you can buy it  or you can substitute paneer with tofu or chicken.It will taste equally good.) Its really easy to make.You can check online videos how to make paneer.

Oil – canola oil or any other light smelling oil

Whipped cream – 1 cup

Spices – cumin seeds, asafoetida, red chilli powder, turmeric powder, coriander powder, shahi paneer masala, salt

Take a skillet and add around 1 tbsp of oil. Let it heat up and then add the paneer or tofu cubes. On medium flame let the paneer or tofu cubes become crispy, then flip them and wait till they are nice and crispy on all sides. Remember tofu takes more time to become crispier than paneer as I noticed, so be patient.

Once they are nice and crispy take them out on a paper towel covered plate and keep them aside.

Now in the same skillet on medium flame, add 2 tbsp of oil and let it heat up.Add the onions and let them cook.Keep stirring them time to time till they become light golden brown.Add 1/2 tbsp cumin seeds and a pinch of asafoetida (Indian hing, you should be able to get it in Indian stores).Mix it all up nicely.Then add 1/4 tsp red chilli powder or more according to taste, 1/2 tbsp turmeric powder, 1 tbsp coriander powder and mix it all up and let it cook for around 1 minute.

Then add the tomato paste, green chilli paste, ginger paste and garlic paste to it.

Now comes the secret ingredient! Add 1/2 tbsp of Shahi paneer masala and salt according to taste and mix it all up. Let it boil for 3-5 minutes and then add 1 cup of heavy cream.

Let it simmer for few minutes. Then add some water to get the desired consistency and let it cook on slow flame for 7-10 minutes.

Add the paneer or tofu pieces and serve hot.

Garnish with coriander.

Enjoy!