Tags

, , , ,

I cooked my first ever (well second to be precise but the experience with my butter chicken wasn’t noteworthy or I must say it was T-A-N-G-Y) successful chicken ever.It was a perilous task my dear readers.It was like an unknown territory which I was trying to conquer and acquire control over the enemies.Enemies in my case being the chicken being fully cooked.As a matter of fact,I have always been utterly fond of eating chicken and have enjoyed it in all forms I could lay my hands on be it grilled,oven roasted,cooked on stove top.Ohh my God the mere thought of chicken makes my blood run 100 times faster than its normal boring frequency.

Well I won’t bore you guys with my chicken love any longer.So we had chicken tacos for dinner.It made me dreamy,giggly,dancing,singing happy girl.

I love you chicken.

To quote one of my top top top favorite cooks of all time Julia Child,

“You never forget a beautiful thing that you have made,’ [Chef Bugnard] said. ‘Even after you eat it, it stays with you – always.”
― Julia ChildMy Life in France

Chicken bean tacos Adapted from Jerry’s mom

For chicken:

Chicken breast finally diced (you can cut it into as small or big pieces to your liking.But remember smaller pieces are much easier to fit inside the taco.)

Olive oil for frying

taco seasoning

For tacos:

A pack of tacos

1 can refried beans

1 cup picante sauce (Adjust it according to the amount of spiciness you can handle)

Salt to taste

Red chili powder

taco seasoning

1 medium sized onion cut in small pieces

lettuce leaves cut in small thin strips

1 fresh vine tomato cut in small pieces

taco sauce

Sour cream

Shredded cheese (Jerry likes 4 cheese mix so that’s what we use mostly but you can add cheddar too or substitute according to your cheese fetish)

Cut the chicken breast in small pieces.Take around 3-4 tbsp olive oil in a skillet.On medium-high flame,when oil is hot enouh add chicken pieces.Let them cook on high for around 2 minutes.Check to make sure they are nicely browned and then turn them and let them become brown on the other side.In between keep stirring them slowly to make sure even distribution of heat throughout the chicken.

Once chicken is done,take it out and keep aside.

In another pan open the can of refried beans.Add picante sauce, around 2 tsps taco seasoning,some salt and red chilli.Mix it properly and warm it up on low heat for around 3-4 minutes.

Turn on the oven to 400F and line up tacos in a tray.Once the oven is preheated, slide the taco tray inside and let them get nice and crispy for around 5 minutes.Take them out.Take one taco at a time.

Now comes the layering part.So here we go:

1.Put a layer of beans first.

2.Now add a layer of chicken.

3.Drizzle some taco sauce.

4.Put a layer of sour cream.

5.Now stuff it with shredded letuce,onions and tomatoes.

6.put a nice thick layer of shredded cheese.

Serve and enjoy.

P.S we enjoyed our taco dinner and ended it with a piece of chocolate cake.

Heavenly!I will sleep well tonight.