Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Yesterday was our weekend.Jerry took a day off from work and we decided to relax and make up for the lost time together.We have been living in merrillville for last 8 months now and we didn’t get a chance to look around.He found out online that there is a mini-golf and go carting nearby so we decided to give it a shot and woala it was so much fun! I must say I cheat shamelessly but hey everything is fair in love and war right?

After we were done, we found an amazingly big and fancy grocery store.Dear readers you must be thinking I being excited about grocery shopping but let me tell you recently I have come face to face with the fact that I adore grocery stores specially these kinds where as you enter you are greeted by all sorts of vegetables from some being called rhubarb(I had never seen one in my life,I did read them in cooking books but I had no idea what they are or how they look).They say there stems are eatable being used in pies and desserts.Wow I need to try them now.

We found an oldish looking movie theatre and it was still showing movies.Image

For dinner we have been wanting to try this mexican restaurant “Tequila restaurante”.It looked pretty good from outside.They have outdoor seating as well indoor seating.We decided to sit inside and ordered tomato salsa based french fries.Those were simply out of this world. For main course we stuck to the basics nachos and enchiladas and they were pretty good but let me warn you the portions were monstrous.I mean it.

 Image

It turned to be kind of our date night where you walk aimlessly down the streets hand in hand.We ended it by watching “The three musketeers” again in which I slept after the initial 10 minutes.Mood spoiler.

Well after a late night and eating out I wanted to try something different for brunch.So I made vegetable Quiche and the one slice that was left I am eating right now while typing.It was yum.
Image

 P.S The handwriting in this is Jerry’s.Isn’t it kiddish lol.

Vegetable Quiche

For crust I used this recipe and I must say It’s a keeper. Image

For the filling 

3 big eggs

cheese for egg mixture according to your liking (I used 1/4 cup cheddar,1/4 cup mozzarella and 1/4 cup ricotta cause we love these cheeses)

1/4 fresh jalapeno if you like it hot

1/2 a cup milk (I used 2%)

salt and pepper

You can add vegetables according to what you like or what you have at home.I had mushrooms,bell peppers and onions.For 3 eggs I added around 1/3 bell pepper diced, 3-4 small mushrooms chopped, 1/3 yellow onion chopped since mine was pretty big in size.

Oil for sauteing

Directions

Start by getting the crust ready as in the above recipe.Preheat the oven to 350F.

Take a pan and add around 2 tbsp oil on medium-high flame and add the vegetables.Let them turn nice and burn but don’t burn them.Make sure they are dry otherwise hey will make your quiche soggy.

Add salt and pepper and taste.

In another bowl,break the eggs and stir them.to them add your cheeses,milk and salt and pepper.Mix it all nicely.Add the veggies and jalapenos if you want.

Pour the mix in the already ready crust in the pan.

Put it inside the preheated oven and let it cook for around 45 – 50 mins.Make sure it gets done nicely.You don’t want to dig your teeth in wet eggs yuk.

P.S I hope my dear lovely readers you enjoyed making this.Bon appetit.