Tags

, , , , , ,

Apple apples more apples many more apples many many more apples.

Ok I will stop now. I think you got it. Last time APPLES.

My love affair with apples is 27 years old. They have been around all these years and I must say they have been berry berry oops I meant very very loyal to me. I have seen them in all their colors say it green, red, golden red, yellowish red and many many more shades of red and yellow. When we were in Iran ( did I tell you that I spent 6 years in Iran with my parents?? Anyways I just told you now!) we had two big trees in our garden; one which used to grow red and other green apples. I remember during afternoons I with my friend Zehra ( Ohhh I miss you..I hope you read this wherever you are Zehra) used to lie under the big giant tree and chew on those delicious juicy apples. We used to lay there dreaming about the sky being so blue, cherries being so red and Mehndi (her brother) being so mischievous. I still remember somedays when we used to get too playful, we both would hit him playfully and run away and hide in my house. I remember after that her mother’s voice looking for us to go deep in the matter of who hit him. Those were the days. How things change when you grow up.

While the weather here right now so much reminds me of those days, So I had to make apple pie. We have already enjoyed apples in the form of apple crumble and thin crust apple pie but how can apple feast be done without the king of apple pies, the much hyped traditional lattice top apple pie.

Lattice top apple pie ( Adapted from The Bon Appetit Cookbook )

For crust

  • 2 ½  cups unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 14 tbsps (1 ¾ sticks) chilled unsalted butter, cut in small pieces
  • 8-10 tbsps ice water

For filling:

  • ½ cup white sugar
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • 2 tbsps all purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tsp grated lemon peel
  • 1 tsp cinnamon powder
  • ½ tsp apple pie spice (optional)
  • around 7-8 medium sized apples, peeled, quartered, cored and cut in small chunks

For coating:

  • 1-2 tbsp milk
  • some white sugar

Making crust :

Blend flour, sugar and salt in processor or by hand. Add small chilled butter pieces and mix it using either processor or hand until it resembles a coarse mix. Add chilled water 1 tbsp at a time and keep mixing until it turns into a ball. Wrap the ball into a plastic wrap and chill it for at least 2 hours.

Note: Dough can be prepared 2 days ahead. Keep it chilled.

Making filling :

Position rack in bottom 3rd of oven and preheat the oven to 400F. Mix first 7 ingredients in a big bowl and mix nicely. Now add the apple chunks and toss to combine.

Let the dough sit out for 10-15 minutes before rolling out. Divide the dough into 2 equal parts.Roll out one part on floured surface to 12-inch round. Transfer it to a 9-inch diameter pie dish.Tear out the extra part leaving about 1 inch hanging out all around.

Now pour the filling inside. Roll out the other dough on well floured surface to slightly bigger circle say around 13-inch and cut it in around 13-14 thin strips.

To see placement of lattice top, refer to this. Trust me it makes lattice top crust look like a cake walk.

Seal the edges properly. Brush lattice with milk.

Sprinkle with some sugar.

Baking :

Bake pie for 10 minutes at 400F. Then lower the temperature to 375F and continue to bake for around 1 hr to 1 hr 20 mins until you see the crust deep golden, filling bubbling and thick. Cover the edges with aluminium foil if browning quickly. (This to be honest didn’t worked in my case. I tried covering the edges but It was hard to make the foil stay at the edges. Phew!)

Cool it for at least 1 hour before serving.

Serve warm or at room temp.

Bon appetit!