Tags

, , , , , ,

When I was a kid, I always got my way, not always always, but most of the time always. I had been a pampered child that’s what I heard and still hear people close to me say. Though undoubtedly I was never unabashed by it. When did being pampered become a matter of shame? Right.

I used to wait for vacations when I could indulge myself in comic books which I would rent from a nearby shop and read them while lying and sipping on chilled soda which my amma ( we call our father’s mother that) would stock up on before the beginning of vacations. I remember in those days in India, a guy would come to deliver a dozen of these glass soda bottles which she would buy for me and she would always remember my favorite flavor. Those were the days of innocence, I would eat whatever I wanted. I was never worried about watching my weight until I grew up and saw everyone sweating up just to fit in some stupid pair of jeans or just to impress a guy. Sadly I myself got a bit attracted to this too but I still couldn’t ditch my love for comfort foods.

Since last night weather has been rather chilly and I thought what would be a good way to enjoy than getting to sip on a hot cup of hot tea with some banana coconut bread. Sounds tempting right?

 Well as Mr.Simpson said “I eat merely to keep food out of my mind“. God bless his soul.

Banana coconut bread (Adapted from Home Baking : The artful mix of flour and Tradition around the world, by Jeffrey Alford and Naomi Duguid via Orangette)

  • 2 medium size over ripe bananas
  • 1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 spoon plus a pinch of baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/16 tsp distilled white vinegar
  • 1/2 ¼ tbsp carribean rum with coconut ( you can add dark rum too, that’s what Molly added)
  • 1/4 cup dried shredded unsweetened coconut

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F and butter a 5½ by 3 inch loaf pan.

Note : This recipe is good for small loaf pan as stated above but you can double or triple the recipe as desired.

Now puree the bananas in a blender or food processor and measure about 1 cup of it. Keep it aside.

In a medium bowl, mix flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt and keep it aside.

In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.Now add vinegar and rum and beat to mix it nicely. Now keep adding banana puree and flour mix alternately, beating just to incorporate. If you find any dry flour mix left, use a spatula and fold it around and then add the coconut and just mix till it is all together. Do not overmix.

Pout the batter in the pan. The batter will be thick so spread it around and even the top with a spatula. Bake it for around 45-55 minutes till the top is nicely browned and a knife comes out clean from inside the bread.

Let it cool for 20 minutes and then take it out on a wire rack. Let it cool and enjoy. Store the cake in an airtight container and they say it stays good for 3-4 days, though I noticed that by the second day you will finish it anyways.

It has a nice crumb on the outside just like a bread and center is soft and gooey. We loved it.

Thanks Molly for finding this amazing recipe.

Hope you guys will enjoy making and eating this. See you soon.