Tags

, ,

I am a mushroom maniac or something of that sort. I am obsessed with mushrooms. I like them raw in sandwiches, in gravy, grilled, marinated and almost all sorts. I am always in search of finding ways to use these cute buttons in my food.

This weekend while browsing through stacks of cookbooks, I came across Mridula Baljekar’s “The curry cookbook”.

Image

The things that impressed me and made me buy this book were the impressive cover which shows an assortment of bright coloured pulses, vegetables and spices. When you reach the content section, you find the book arranged in a very simple manner. It is sectioned into 5 categories namely chicken, meat, fish/seafood, vegetables/pulses and accompaniments. Each recipe has a picture which makes it very easy to decide whether you will enjoy it or not.

The first recipe I tried from this book was mushroom bhaji and to be honest I must say it was worth trying. I do found it less on some ingredients which I will try to adjust next time I cook this. For instance I would add fresh tomato puree and little cream at the end to bring out the flavours more strongly.

 Image

Image

Image

Mushroom bhaji  (Adapted from Mridula Baljekar’s The Curry Cookbook)

Serves 4

  • 10 oz button mushrooms  (I used baby bella’s)
  • 3 tbsp canola oil or sunflower oil
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 1 fresh green chili, finely chopped (seeds removed if you prefer less heat)
  • 2 tsp garlic paste
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp salt, to taste
  • 2 tbsp tomato paste
  • 4 tbsp water
  • 1 tbsp snipped fresh chives, to garnish (optional)

Wipe the mushrooms and slice thickly.

Heat oil in a saucepan over medium heat. Add the onion and chili and cook for 5-7 minutes, until onion have softened but not browned. Add the garlic paste and mix it for a minute or two.

Add the cumin, coriander and cook stirring for 1 minute. Add mushrooms, salt and tomato paste and stir until all the ingredients are blended properly.

Sprinkle water evenly over the mushrooms and reduce the heat to low. Cover and cook for 10-15 minutes, stirring in between. The mushrooms should be soft enough while the sauce should have thickened. If sauce appears runny, cook it uncovered for 4-5 minutes until it reaches desired consistency.

Transfer to a serving dish and sprinkle with chives or coriander or mint, optional.

P.S I already have a list of to make dishes from this book.

Hope you enjoy this recipe. See you soon dear readers.