Tags

, , , ,

We both have a sweet tooth. So you can only imagine how hard it gets when we can’t find anything sweet to have after our lunch or dinner. When I was a kid, I remember watching my grandmother eat jaggery after her meals. Slowly I developed a liking for it and it was a rather good and healthy alternate to sweets. Still now when I go to India to visit my family, my grandmother sends specially selected jaggery and it’s customary to eat jaggery after lunch in winters.

I think this pretty much explains my love for all things sweet.

Weather has been rather cold and nice here in merrillville. I had been looking for cake recipe which is light, easy to make and a simple snack. While searching I came across Dorie Greenspan‘s Apple coconut cake made by Rosa’s yummy yum and I instantly jumped and I had it ready in less than 2 hours. It is a perfect mix of apples, coconut and cinnamon.The flavors are very light and refreshing which makes you keep wanting for more.

Dorie’s Apple coconut cake ( Adapted from Dorie Greenspan’s “Baking from my home to yours” via Rosa’s yummy yums )

Ingredients:
1 Cup + 2 Tbs All-purpose flour
2 Tsps Baking powder
1/4 Tsp Baking soda
1/3 Tsp Ground cinnamon
1/3 Tsp Salt
3 Apples, peeled and cored
2 Large eggs, at room temperature
1/2 Cup + 2 Tsps white sugar
1/2 Cup Plain yogurt
6 Tbs Flavorless oil
1 Tbs Dark rum (I used coconut rum and it helped in bringing out more coconuty flavor)
2 Tsp Vanilla extract
1 Cup Shredded or grated unsweetened coconut

Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 350° F.  Butter a regular sized 9 inch cake pan. In a medium size bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Now cut 2 of the apples in small dice shapes and cover with plastic wrap and set aside. Cut the 3rd apple into thin slices. Cover them and keep them aside.

Now take a large bowl and whisk the eggs and 1/2 cup of the sugar together for a minute. Now add the yogurt, oil, rum and vanilla extract and whisk for about 1 minute, until smooth paste forms.
Still using the whisk, or switching to a rubber spatula, fold in the flour mixture, followed by the coconut and the diced apple. Do not overmix.

Scrape the batter into the pan and jiggle the pan from side to side a couple of times to even out the batter. Arrange the sliced apples in an attractive pattern over the top of the cake and sprinkle them with the remaining 2 teaspoons sugar.
Bake for 45 to 50 minutes, or until the apples and cake are golden and a thin knife inserted into the center comes out clean. Transfer it to a rack and let it cool for 15-20 mins.

P.S Serve it warm with cold vanilla ice cream or enjoy it with a glass of wine.

P.P.S This is a must try. Even if you don’t bake cakes, this one nobody should miss baking. Trust me.

Bon appetit.