Tags

, , ,

These days we are hooked up on “Take home chef”, where Aussie chef Curtis Stone was introduced to American people in 2006 in a fun interactive sort of way. His task is to go to grocery stores and search for the perfect “victim” and convince them to let him cook dinner for them and show that he is indeed a remarkable cook.

I myself have been impressed by his skills and looks to say the least. He has been motivating me to try my hands at things I have never ever dared to taste like oysters, swordfish and most of them which I can’t even pronounce.

Now on this note, since it is october and weather has been charming which reminded me of Curtis (blush!), I decided to make some healthy snack. I have been hearing how healthy flax seeds are but I had no idea how to use them or eat them for that matter. Well I must say I am totally in love with this form and it also takes away the guilt of munching here and there.

Image

Image

Simple and healthy 5 minute energy balls ( Slightly adapted from Gimme some oven)

    • 1 cup dry oatmeal (I used quick cooking oats)
    • 2/3 cup toasted coconut flakes
    • 1/2 cup peanut butter
    • 1/2 cup ground flaxseed or wheat germ
    • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (optional) (I left these to make them totally guiltless)
    • 1/3 cup honey
    • 1 tsp. vanilla
    • 1/2 cup crushed toasted almonds

    Mix all of them together in a bowl till they all combine together.Let them cool down in refrigerator for around 30 mins. Take them and roll them into balls or any desired shape you fancy.

    Enjoy and keep them in an airtight container in refrigerator.

    Healthy eating dear folks. See you soon.