Tags

, , , , ,

I have been a lover of all sorts of chinese food. To be honest, I could never really understand where my love for this cuisine came from. I have never been to China (Sigh!), nor had the luck of having friends from China. But I know one thing that my love for Chinese food has always been there. No matter how many cuisines I may have tried, nobody and when I say nobody I mean nobody can take away my love for this cuisine, my all time 365 * 24 hour favorite Fried rice. I had always tried to make it or to be more precise recreate it, get the kind we get in restaurants but I have always failed successfully.

I watched one of my favorite chef Curtis Stone cook it and thought of giving his recipe a try. It is very simple and it calls for whatever veggies you have at home but I feel green onions do make an integral part of the recipe and they bring out the flavor.

Image

Image

He has also stressed on adding fish sauce and sesame oil for flavoring. You know chinese cuisine is largely based on flavors. The vegetables and meat is not cooked too much and cuisine always stresses on maintaining the natural flavors of ingredients.

I will say this recipe was way way much better and almost close to the restaurant style fried rice.

Image

Fried rice (Adapted from Huffington Post by Curtis stone)

  • 3 cups rice, cooked and cooled down (It is better to cook them a day or few days in advance and then use the refrigerated rice)
  • Cooking oil like canola oil, sunflower oil or any other good cooking oil
  • You can add whatever vegetables you like to eat. I used mushrooms, green onions, carrots. Vegetables should be chopped nicely in small pieces.
  • Reserve some portion of the green part of green onions for garnishing
  • Toasted sesame seed oil ~ 1 tbsp
  • Fish sauce ~ 1 tbsp
  • Soy sauce ~ 4-5 tbsps
  • Salt to taste
  • Black pepper to taste
  • 2 eggs

Add 1 tsp oil in a wok or pan and saute the mushrooms first and keep them aside. Next add little bit more oil and let the wok heat up nicely. Add the eggs and stir them and cook them for around 15 secs until they start coming together. Take them out and keep them aside. You don’t want to cook eggs too much as they will taste chewy and dry. Next add little bit more oil and add carrots. Stir them around and let them cook for few minutes. Add the green onions and stir around for a min.Add the mushrooms. Add the rice and mix them well. Let it lay there untouched for few minutes till the heat transfers nicely to every singly rice grain. Stir them once in a while. Cook it like this for around 3-5 mins and then add soy sauce, sesame oil and fish sauce. Add salt and black pepper and taste. Mix it all up nicely and then add the scrambled eggs.

Serve hot and garnish with green onions or sunny side up eggs, as per taste.

Bon appetit.