Tags

, , , , , , ,

Have you ever been in a position where you find your pantry stacked up with items you have no idea in the whole world how to use them? Well for starters I am a regular in this department. These days I must admit more than usual I come across this situation. I spend my early mornings staring at our pantry and thinking if I know to cook any of this. Sometimes I buy something and at last poor poor (I feel bad!) item gets to go in the garbage world rather than being devoured by its masters. I can see you guys nodding your heads in agreement.

This cabbage has been sitting for God knows how many days in my refrigerator drawer and to my surprise when I took it out, I found it perfectly healthy and shouting at me to eat it just like these chocolates sitting on the counter top shouting all day but I am very good at listening to them. At last they are chocolates, dark-sweet-crunchy. I think I need some now or it might get difficult to finish this post. Back to cabbage. I decided to try using this in one of the salads which has been on my to make list for ages. I think now is the time.

For starters it was good. The noodles in the salad give it a crunchy chewy texture. The vinaigrette is perfect with mild sweet and tangy flavor. I must suggest you to be liberal while adding vinaigrette because it brings out the flavors more. It is perfect for those nights when you don’t want to cook a big meal. It is filling and best served fresh. Don’t make it in advance as the dressing might make the noddles soggy.

Hawaiian style sesame cabbage salad (Adapted from Saveur magazine)

Ingredients:

  • 1/4  head green cabbage, shredded into 1/4-inch ribbons
  • 2-3 green onions , white and green parts, sliced thin
  • 1/8 cup white wine
  • 1/8 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1-2 tbs. sugar
  • 1/4 tbs. kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper or to taste
  • 1/8 cup sesame oil
  • 1/8 cup olive oil
  • 1/8 cup sesame seeds
  • 1/4 package instant ramen noodles, crushed lightly

In a large bowl, combine the cabbage and scallions. In a medium bowl, whisk together white wine, balsamic vinegar, sugar, salt, and pepper. Combine the sesame and olive oils in a separate vessel and slowly add into wine mixture, whisking steadily, until all the oil is added and the dressing has emulsified. Add vinaigrette to the bowl of cabbage and scallions, top with sesame seeds and crushed ramen noodles. Toss to combine and serve immediately.

Serves 1-2.

Enjoy. See you soon. Hugs.