Tags

, , , , , , ,

Well for starters I am super excited and scared and hungry too (Hope you don’t mind!). Ok I will explain one by one. We are taking some days off and I am super excited and already have a to do, places to eat, to shop (obviously!) list ready. I have been waiting for this little vacation for months and what makes my heart sink is this weather. It is still very windy and kind of scary here. I hope it slows down soon. Lastly, I have been cooking for straight 4 hours – baking some chocolate cake, banana coconut bread as I had some leftover sad bananas stuffed in the freezer and I felt bad for them. So I had to use them.

In middle of all this I baked some asparagus Gruyere bites to bunch on and I feel they are nice and easy for those scary hunger pangs. These are perfect for a quick bite and I took out my long forgotten dress shaped cookie cutters. So damn cute. Perfect for girly night.

Mini asparagus Gruyere bites ( Loosely adapted from Martha Stewart’s Asparagus Gruyere Tart)

 

Ingredients:

  • Flour, for work surface
  • 1 can of Grand jr’s Golden flaky biscuits (pack of 10 biscuits)
  • Aroud 1 cup Gruyere cheese, shredded
  • Around 10 medium or thick asparagus
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • Salt and pepper
  • Balsamic vinegar

Preheat oven to 400 F. Take out the biscuit dough and combine it together. On a well floured surface, roll it out. Using your desired cokie cutter, cut and start placing them on a baking sheet.

Bake them for 4-5 minutes in the oven.

Take them out and spread a nice thick layer of Gruyere cheese. Wash asparagus with water. Wipe and cut into 3 parts. You can cut in more parts also, or cut them in different shapes according to your liking. Arrange them over the biscuits and sprinkle them with salt and black pepper. Bake them for around 15-20 minutes and midway lower the temperature to 300 F to make sure the biscuits don’t burn.

The bites will be nice brown at the bottom and the asparagus should me nice and crunchy. Sprinkle with balsamic vinegar and serve.