Tags

, , , , ,

Regular readers will agree that my last two posts were short and I am not sure if I could say sweet. Lot was going on and still is. For those of you who braved Sandy’s wrath, you should know that my best wishes are with you all.

With Diwali and Thanksgiving just around the corner, I suppose it won’t be hard for you to guess what I am going through. For the starters, all my long term plans of creating hand made gifts have gone in the drain as I realised that I don’t have much time left in my hands before the festivities and in this little time I am going to be mostly travelling.  Then you can feel the election fever and stress. Everyone has been voting and people are waiting fingers crossed for the winning candidate. With so much going on, I decided to keep things simple.

I have always enjoyed eating avocados and till date the best I had is in the form of avocado corn dip but I am always in search of finding new ways to use it. When I came across avocado dip from Two peas and their pod, I had to give it a try. It made me very happy as it is a perfect snack in these cold days when after every other hour or so I start feeling hungry.

It is a taste and make recipe. I say so because I feel there is no exact measurment for how much amount of jalapenos or lime juice or for that matter salt to add. I am going to walk you through the recipe step by step but in my opinion what you need to know is the basic ingredients needed and then you can decide for yourself what suits your taste buds best.

Avocados give it a nice creamy texture while yogurt brings in it a nice tangy flavor. Perfect to go with tortilla chips, pita chips, fresh cut veggies or try putting a thick layer on a toasted multi grain sour dough bread and layer it with fresh cut cucumbers, tomatoes and green hot sauce or pesto. Yum.

Avocado Yogurt dip (Loosely adapted from Two peas and their pod)

  • 1/2 cup whole milk yogurt (You can substitute it for non-fat yogurt or non-fat Greek yogurt)
  • 2 ripe avocados, peeled and seeded
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 tbsp Jalapeno peppers, cut in small pieces (You can remove the seeds if you don’t like spicy and the amount can be increased or decreased also)
  • Fresh lime juice, to taste
  • 1 tsp roasted and ground cumin
  • Salt, black pepper and chilli flakes to taste

Throw everything in a blender or food processor. Blend until smooth and adjust salt, black pepper, lemon to taste.

Serve immediately with chips or veggies or as it is.

Enjoy.

P.S Do let me know if you have more cool avocado recipes? I would love to try them.

See you soon. hugs.