Tags

, , , , , ,

I have been noticing a trend in my eating habits lately. I am realising that when I wasn’t into cooking and when I would eat whatever was served, I was eating much much less. I feel when you eat big rich meals, the hunger grows. Now-a-days I wait for the next meal to happen. My eyes constantly reach for the clock and I take a deep breath. Sigh. Mornings are usually easier. But as the day progresses, my urge to eat gets deeper and deeper while my resistence gets weaker by each passing minute. No wonder while writing this post I am constantly thinking of treating myself with a big cup of Indian tea. Who knows by the time you dear readers read it, I might be who knows gorging on what(!).

Around late evenings, when I feel I have sacrificed a lot for the last 12 hours, my eyes wander to those fresh made cookies sitting on the table, milk in the refrigerator which can be used for oh a cup of hot chocolate, chips in the cupboard which I had stashed away so I can’t find them in these moment of hunger weakness as I call them.

Even weather is not on my side. Cold weather is making it worse. Being an optimist I believe it will be good for you n me, dear friends. It will hopefully keep us providing with different, somedays rich somedays skinny recipes which we can all devour together.

This potato recipe I dedicate to souls like me all around the world. May it keep our ever grumbling bellies satisfied.

Indian style crunchy potatoes

  • 4 medium sized potatoes, peeled and cut in small thin square pieces
  • 3 tbsp canola oil or any other cooking oil
  • 2 tsp mustard seeds
  • Pinch of asafoetida (optional)
  • Salt to taste
  • 2-3 tsp red chilli powder
  • 2-3 tsp turmeric powder
  • 1 tsp roasted and grounded cumin
  • Fresh chopped green coriander, for garnish

Put a skillet on med-high heat and add oil. Swirl the oil around so it coats the skillet bottom evenly. Add mustard seeds and asafoetida and cover. Wait till all mustard seeds splutter 2-3 minutes. Add the potatoes. Gently mix them and lay them in a single layer for even crunchy cooking. Cover and make sure the gas is on med-high, almost towards high side.

Cook then for 4-5 minutes and then flip them with a spatula and cover. Do it for 2-3 times till you see nice brown coloured crunchy looking potatoes. Make sure they don’t burn. If you feel flame is too high, lower it down to medium.

Once done, lower the gas to low-medium and add salt, red chilli powder, turmeric powder and cumin powder. Mix it all nicely and taste. Adjust the spices according to taste.

Granish it with chopped coriander.

Serve hot.

P.S In Indian cuisine, we enjoy it with fresh hot chapatis or rice.

Hope this will give you good company.

See you soon. Hugs.