Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I always feel proud to call myself a salad person but recently I discovered that I am not really a salad lover. I enjoy eating vegetables and fruits on their own. But if you take me out for dinner, don’t be surprised if you see me ordering everything but salad. If you remember, in one of my last post I openly accepted my love affair with food. It is growing stronger day by day.

When I look for recipes, I really don’t look for salads. My mind is always in search for good desserts, main courses and appetizers not in any particular order. But recently while reading the latest issue of food and wine, I came across something that I decided to give it a try. It’s a take on salads but not your usual type. The dressing is in particular striking. It is a blend of creme fraiche or sour cream with lemon juice, lemon zest, maple syrup and poppy seeds. I had never heard of a dressing that involves maple syrup. You might call me outdated.

Orange-strawberry-walnut salad with creamy poppy seed dressing (Loosely adapted from Food & Wine Dec 2012 issue)

Serves 1

  • Oranges ~ 2
  • Strawberries ~ 4
  • Lime ~ 1/3 (It gives a tangy flavor, feel free to leave it out and substitute with more strawberries or oranges)
  • Finely grated lemon zest ~ 1/2 tsp
  • Freshly squeezed lemon juice ~ 1/3 tbsp or more on tasting
  • Creme fraiche or sour cream ~ 2 tbsp
  • Pure maple syrup ~ 1 tbsp
  • Poppy seeds ~ 1 tsp
  • Salt to taste
  • Crushed walnuts for garnish

Using a sharp knife, peel the oranges and remove the bitter white pith. Cut in between the membranes to release the sections. Leave the orange slices in full or cut them in half according to taste. Wash strawberries and cut them in 4 pieces length wise. Cut the lime and remove the skin. I like chopping it in small pieces to I don’t get big pieces in my mouth.

In another bowl, whisk the lemon zest with lemon juice, sour cream, maple syrup and poppy seeds. Season the dressing lightly with salt. Pour the dressing over the fruits, slightly toss the salad and garnish with chopped walnuts.

Serve right away.

P.S Poppy seed dressing can be made in advance and refrigerated overnight. Whisk gently before tossing with citrus.

Enjoy.

See you soon. Hugs.