Tags

, , , , , ,

Today is one of those days when I can’t think of anything to write. I had already written and erased thrice if I say so without being proud of myself. I feel it is something about weekend mornings. They send my mind to a hibernation zone. I have been planning to not let these so called lazy weekends bother me or interfere with my routine. Sigh. They are just hard to resist. I remember how every friday I plan that on weekend I will get my exercise routine going, start our day with a breakfast instead of munching on chips n cookies while lying in bed watching recaps of How I met your mother or castle. Talking about TV shows makes me remember how I was never a TV person earlier. I would be in serenity with a cup of coffee and a book. I could pass hours in their company. Lately I am becoming more of a TV person, enjoying more of these no mind shows than literary brilliance.

The only thing I stick to in the mornings is a hot cup of ginger tea or coffee depending on my mood. One of my friends told me her quick fix for morning breakfast. A cup of hot coffee with oatmeal and flax seed mixed in it. To be honest, I couldn’t gather courage to give it a try. I just don’t find it appetizing. Sorry. But I don’t like compromising on my food be it the rush hour breakfast or leisurely cooked dinner.

Today I felt like treating ourselves with hot and spicy french toasts along with  sprouted green lentil topped with onions. It is a very simple and quick brunch recipe. To put it all together takes at max 30-45 minutes if you have your green lentil pre-soaked and sprouted.

A healthy low fat nutritious and filling meal.

Remember to enjoy it with the latest issue of food and wine in one hand. It just makes the experience more enjoyable.

The choice of seasoning for making the egg mix for french toast is my personal preference. But you can add or substract something you don’t fancy like turmeric or milk. I would insist on keeping the green onions because they play a major role in its taste.

 

Spicy french toast

Serves 2

  • 3 medium brown eggs
  • 1-2 stalks green onions, chopped finely
  • Salt to taste
  • Red chilli powder to taste
  • Turmeric powder 1-2 tsp
  • 3 green chillies, chopped
  • 3-4 tbsp milk (optional)
  • 3 bread slices (I used big multi-grain bread slices which were cut in half. If using normal small size bread use 5-6 slices)

In a bowl break the eggs. Add all except bread. Mix it all up and taste for salt and red chilli. Adjust the seasoning. Cut the bread in half if using big bread. Heat a skillet on medium flame. Once hot, add 1-2 tsp oil. Once oil gets hot, soak the bread in egg mix for few seconds then flip it to coat on the other side. Place it on the sillet. Lower the flame. Let it cook slowly. Make sure it doesn’t burn. With a spatula press it so you don’t end up with uncooked centers. Once it is all nice and brown serve hot with hot sauce.

Repeat for other bread slices.

Sprouted green lentil with onions

Serves 2

  • 1 cup sprouted green lentil ( You can sprout it yourself as I do or buy)
  • 1 tsp oil
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • Salt to taste
  • 1 tsp turmeric powder
  • 2-3 tsp lemon juice
  • Chopped onion for garnish
  • sesame seeds for garnishing (optional)

For sprouting : Wash and soak lentils in water for a day. After about 24 hours of soaking, drain the water and place them in a cheese cloth or thin towel. Make sure the cloth is wet. Keep it aside wrapped inside the cloth for a day or two till you start seeing white extensions from green lentils. You know your sprouts are ready to eat.

Put a pan on med heat. Add oil. Once hot add cumin seeds. After a minute or two add sprouts, salt and turmeric. Pour around 1/2 cup of water and close the lid. Let them cook to soften but not mushy for 25-30 minutes. In between keep stirring once or twice. If they start getting too dry, sprinkle few drops of water.

Once  done add lemon juice. Mix it all and taste. Garnish with onions and sesame seeds.

Serve.

P.S what do you guys eat for breakfast on weekends?

See you soon. Hugs.