Tags

, , , , , , ,

Winter months bring with them a kind of aura. November is gone almost and I am still struggling to get used to these cold, dark and short days. Don’t get me wrong. I love winters. I look forward to them like my hungry dog looks forward to his occasional treats. Winter months bring with them all kind of excuses to indulge in food. I, as you might have gathered by now, am a big food eater. I have been pledging to try out lots of healthy recipes this month. I started with a brussel sprout salad and it helped me gain back my confidence which got shaking with some recent disasters in kitchen. I think it’s better not to discuss them here.

Recently I was reading a book on the letters exchanged between Julia Child and Avis Devoto and I was taken by surprise when I realised how well educated they both were. Apart from being masters of their own fields, they took active interest in politics. The letters show how friendship between these two ladies grew up with time and their impacts on each other. I have always looked up to Julia Child and she is always a motivational factor for me.

You must be thinking why I had this sudden urge of sharing my Julia Child love again? Well well this is how I decided to treat ourselves with a pretty decent comfort food for dinner. She always gets me motivated. That’s her charm.

It is a very simple Indian meal perfect for weekend dinners as it takes little time to get the stuff ready. For egg curry or eggs in tomato onion gravy, the only time consuming part is the initial setup. Once you have all your ingredients ready, it is a cake walk. This simple gravy with hard boiled eggs can be either enjoyed with hot Indian chapati or bread or rice. I believe it goes best with rice.

DSC02317[2]DSC02342[1]

DSC02321[1]DSC02329[1]DSC02319[1]DSC02326[1]DSC02330[1]Egg curry/ Eggs in tomato onion gravy

  • 6 hard boiled eggs, peeled and cut in halves
  • 1 big size yellow onion, finely chopped
  • 2 tomatoes, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp oil like canola or any other cooking oil
  • 3-4 cloves
  • 1 cinnamon stick, broken in small parts
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 2 tsp ginger-garlic paste
  • 1-2 tsp red chilli powder
  • 2 tsp ground coriander powder
  • Pinch of turmeric for frying eggs and another pinch for gravy
  • 1 tsp garam masala ( You can find it in Indian grocery stores)
  • 1 tbsp Freshly chopped cilantro
  • Salt to taste

Heat 1/2 tbsp oil in a pan and add pinch of turmeric. Mix it and add the halved eggs on medium flame. Let them get crispy on one side and then flip them. Make sure they get nice brown and crispy. Keep them aside.

In the same pan add the remaining 1/2 tbsp oil. Add cloves, cinnamon stick and cumin seeds. Saute them for a min or two. Add ginger-garlic paste and saute. Add the finely chopped onion paste. Mix it all and let the onions get pinkish.

Add chilli powder, coriander powder and turmeric. Add tomatoes and let the mixture get cooked on medium flame for 7-10 minutes. Add around 1 cup of water and let it boil till it reaches desired consistency.

Add salt and garam masala. Garnish with freshly chopped cilantro and serve.

Cucumber yogurt

  • 1/2 medium sized cucumber, peeled and grated
  • 8 tbsp non fat yogurt
  • salt to taste
  • 2 tsp garlic paste
  • 1 tsp green chili paste
  • 2 tsp cumin powder

Mix it all up and let it chill for atleast 15 minutes before serving.

Spicy Rice

  • 1 cup a day old white rice
  • 1/2 tbsp oil
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds
  • Salt to taste
  • Red chilli powder to taste
  • 1 tsp turmeric powder

In a bowl, mix salt, red chilli powder and turmeric in rice. Mix it all up.Heat oil in a pan. Add mustard seeds and let them splutter. Add the rice mix and let it cook for few minutes while stirring it in between for 5-7 minutes. Serve hot.

P.S What do you usually consider winter comfort food? Would love to know.

See you soon. Hugs