Tags

, , , , , ,

The first and the only time I have been to London was just after the end of my master’s degree. It was the last day on campus and the very night we flew. I was super excited. London has been my personal favorite since I suppose I realised there is so much to see and do. I remember that night sitting at the airport with my parents and brother and making plans.

When we reached hotel after a long flight we realised that the rooms were not ready and that meant no freshening up. But that didn’t stopped us from handling our luggage safely at the desk and leaving for our tour. Even today my eyes get all dreamy when I think of those exhausting but one of the best days of my life. My mother still jokes about my brother saying that his pictures never came better. It seemed he found his true home.

That’s where I got introduced to hash browns, baked beans, pancakes, waffles, Quiche among others. In India I had hash browns and pancakes earlier but they never tasted the same. Hash browns with the perfect crispness while melt in the mouth pancakes. Divine. Since then I had uncountable pancakes and I myself whipped up pancakes at home but always the ready to make versions. Once I tried making them from scratch but the batter got too thick and in nervousness I forgot to add more milk so I ended up throwing the batter. Since then I kept my distance from making pancakes from scratch. But recently I found a recipe on cardamom-oatmeal pancakes and I couldn’t but help myself from trying them.

They are the perfect combination of softness and divine smell. The aroma from cardamom took me back to my Indian roots. It made me remember those days when my mother would cook a creamy rice pudding with cardamom. The cooked oatmeal gives it a very soft texture like melt in the mouth. You feel much better eating these as half the flour has been replaced by oatmeal. A perfect morning breakfast.

PicsArt_1354878758435

PicsArt_1354879451023

Make sure you eat them warm as they start loosing their softness as they get cold. Can be prepared in advance and stored in a preheated oven.

PicsArt_1354879057285Cardamom-oatmeal pancakes ( Adapted from Kimberly’s recipe from the year in Food featured in theKitchn )

Makes 5 medium sized pancakes

Ingredients:
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoons baking powder
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon cardamom
A pinch of salt
1/2 + 8 tsps cup milk or buttermilk (I used 2% milk)
1/2 cup cooked oatmeal (I had old fashioned oats on hand so used them)
1 egg
butter for the skillet

Directions:

Preheat oven to 200°F.

Heat a skillet over a medium flame. Combine the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl. In a separate small bowl, whisk together the egg with the milk until foamy. Using a spoon, mash the oatmeal into the milk-egg mixture until just incorporated.

Slowly fold the wet ingredients into the dry and mix until just combined. This batter is not like your usual normal pancake batter. It is thicker with small oatmeal crumbs. However, if it’s too thick, you can thin it out with a little more milk 1 tsp at a time. Melt about 1 tsp butter in the skillet. Pour 1/5 of the batter or use some measure whichever way you find easier.

Cook the pancakes until bubbles begin to form on the surface, about 4-5 minutes. Flip, and cook for another 2-3 minutes. Repeat with remaining batter, re-greasing skillet as needed. Place the cooked pancakes on a plate and keep warm in the oven.

Top with maple syrup or chocolate syrup and white sugar. Enjoy!

P.S Which is your favorite pancake recipe?

See you soon. Hugs.