Tags

, , , ,

Since I made my excitement about holidays clear yesterday, I thought why not treat you guys with something everyone can enjoy while bundled up around the fireplace catching up on a family classic .Sounds amazing, right? Well to begin with, this is something I grew up eating as a kid. I remember going to see fair with my family every year and the excitement of eating these spicy popcorn used to be the sole reason of my visit.

We never used to make them at home as they were so easy to find every where in India. But since I moved to US, I realised they are Jerry’s favorite. He loves eating them while catching up on a movie or playing games or sometimes for no reason at all. I got the recipe from his mom and since then we have been enjoying them.

They are very very easy to make. Trust me. The only thing you need to have at hand is dried corn kernels which is but obvious. Other than that, rest of the stuff you will have in your pantry.

They taste best after sitting for 5 minutes so they get crunchy but do taste them before serving. You might need to adjust salt according to taste.

DSC02455[1]

 

DSC02461[1]

 

Spicy popcorn

Serves 2

  • 1 cup dried corn kernels
  • 2 tsp salt plus more to taste
  • 1 tsp turmeric powder (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp red chili powder
  • 4 tsp oil or butter

In a bowl, mix corn with 1 tsp oil/butter, salt, red chili powder and turmeric powder.

Keep a medium sized deep pot on med-high flame. Add the remaining oil/butter and   add the mix in the bowl. Cover it and wait for a minute or two till you hear the first pop. Slowly shake the pot with the lid on while keeping the flame at high. Make sure while they pop you keep shaking it slowly continuously so they don’t burn.

Once you hear the popping sound dying, take the pot on the side. Transfer them to a plate and let them sit for a minute or two. Taste and adjust seasoning.

Enjoy!

See you soon. Hugs.