Tags

, , , , , ,

squash soup 1

Right now I have zillions of thoughts passing through my brain at the speed may be faster than that of a bullet train. I have so much to say but I feel empty. No, it is not those usual hunger pangs which I have been found to mention here from time to time. It seems something deeper, something constructive. I have a confession. I have never in my life EVER tasted acorn squash. I know most of you must be wondering that the time of mentioning squash has long gone. But trust me, we are still living, eating, walking, sleeping winters. It has been gloomy here for the past two days and even my favorite Bagels have been of not much help.

I wasn’t going to buy squash. I had my experiences. In a family of two, usually you don’t want to waste your efforts on something the other person won’t even touch. So I had kind of stopped looking for it. Last week while walking by the vegetable section, I saw them still selling all kinds of squash. I was kind of surprised but than I realised that unlike other parts of the world, we are still long away from spring. I thought of giving it a try and while looking for the smallest piece, I ended up bringing a small acorn squash home.

I must say that was one of the best decisions I made in my life food wise. Being completely unarmed in the squash department I started looking for recipes. I wanted to start with a soup and yes I wanted to roast squash. I have always wanted to roast a squash. So I roasted one. It was all I had dreamed about. So soft and sweet that at one point I decided to eat it with a spoon. But that was a lot and I wanted to do something worthy with it. So I ended up being inspired with a thai style soup and since we both are big on Thai food, I thought it might be a good excuse to offer him some!

I did make some of my own changes but one thing which you must do at any cost as the recipe says is frying fresh ginger. When the fried ginger meets sweet spicy soup, it sort of just makes up for all the work.

squash soup 3 squash soup 4 aquash soup 5

 A keeper recipe for sure. You can roast the squash in advance and keep the pulp for a day or two in the refrigerator. The total cooking takes around an hour of which most of it is simmering where you can go finish your paper, drink your coffee or do the long unattended cleaning. You can also refrigerate the fully made soup for upto 3 days as suggests the recipe though I ended up eating up mine in two days.

If you are still far from spring, this soup will heal you and save your soul and for those who have the pleasure of enjoying spring, this soup makes it all much more better.

Thai style acorn squash soup with coconut milk ( Adapted from Food and Wine)

Serves 2

  • I small acorn squash, roasted and pulp taken out ( I used 1 cup pulp)
  • 1/2 cup onion, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp garlic paste
  • 1 inch garlic fresh, chopped and more for frying
  • 1.5 tsp red curry paste or more to taste ( I used Thai Kitchen red curry paste)
  • 4 tbsp unsweetened coconut milk (I used Chaokoh coconut milk)
  • Salt to taste
  • 1.5 or more lemon juice to taste, fresh
  • 2 tsp Coconut oil for sauteing and frying, divided
  • Yogurt for serving

Roasting the squash:

Cut the squash in half and scoop out the seeds. Heat oven to 375F. Grease the baking sheet lightly with coconut oil and put the two squash pieces cut side down. Bake it for 30-40 minutes or until tender soft.

Let it cool. Scoop out the pulp.

Soup:

Heat up some coconut oil around 1 tsp in a skillet / pot. Add onions and garlic and saute until soft and fragrant. Add red curry paste and cook for 2-3 minutes. Add squash puree along with 2 cups of water and ginger pieces. Let it come to a boil and then let it simmer for 25-30 minutes on low to medium flame. Add coconut milk and simmer it for another 15-20 minutes. Let it cool down a little. Pulse in a blender until smooth. Return the soup to the pot and add salt and lemon juice to taste. Add more water if it looks too thick.

In another small skillet heat remaining 1 tsp coconut oil and fry small pieces of fresh ginger until they turn golden brown.

Add them in soup. Warm soup before serving and serve with a good big dollop of yogurt.

Enjoy. Hope you enjoy this soup as much as we did.

See you soon. Hugs.